Home > News & Media>

Medellín Receives Experiences in Social Innovation 2008 Finalists

The winners of the fourth cycle of the Experiences in Social Innovation award, organized by ECLAC with the support of the Kellogg Foundation, will be announced in Medellín, Colombia, on November 26-28. The 20 semifinalists were visited by ECLAC judges in August and September.

Of these, 12 made it to the final: 9 from South America, 1 from Central America and 2 from the Caribbean. Brazil, represented by 3 projects, was once again the country with the most finalists. For the first time ever, projects from Saint Lucia, Cuba and Belize reached this stage of the contest.

Among the issues addressed by the finalists are youth, income generation, education, rural development and corporate social responsibility. The Experiences in Social Innovation award was first held in 2004 and is intended to identify, disseminate and extend recognition to innovative social development programs that serve the poorest populations of Latin America and the Caribbean. Over these four years, nearly 4,400 projects have competed in the initiative.

Read more



Related Topics

What to Read Next

Scroll to Top