Home > News & Media>

First Nations Oweesta Honors Two Development Organizations

Publication: W.K. Kellogg Foundation
Published: 11/21/2006

First Nations Oweesta Corporation recently honored the Citizen Potawatomi Community Development Corporation (CPCDC), and the Four Directions Development Corporation, for their dedication to Native American causes. CPCDC received the Circle of Honor Award. It offers training, technical assistance, loans, and financial education to businesses that provide key products and services for the people of the Citizen Potawatomi nation. Four Directions’ founding executive director, Susan Hammond, was given the Visionary Leader Award for Outstanding Achievement. Since Hammond founded the organization in 2001, Four Directions has built a portfolio of more than $2 million in housing and small business loans to benefit the tribes of Maine. Oweesta is the only national, certified Native Community Development Financial Institution intermediary. Through Oweesta’s three program areas: training, technical assistance and consulting; capitalization and advocacy; and policy and research – Native communities receive strength, guidance, support and financing to develop permanent asset building institutions and programs. First Nations Oweesta is a rural development grantee of the W.K. Kellogg Foundation, and a member of the nine-partner Oweesta Collaborative Project, funded in 2005 by the Foundation to implement an Entrepreneurship Development System (EDS) in South Dakota and Wyoming. For more information on First Nations Oweesta visit www.oweesta.org.

Click here for more information.

Related Topics

What to Read Next

Scroll to Top