Home > News & Media>

Ford Foundation Announces Winners of 2004 Leadership for a Changing World Awards

The Ford Foundation announced the 2004 winners of the Leadership for a Changing World awards. The 18 awardees, chosen by a national selection committee from a pool of nearly 1000 nominations, are individuals and leadership teams tackling some of the nation’s most entrenched social, economic and environmental challenges.

“These awardees are making a difference in communities across the country and are showing us new ways to exercise leadership in challenging times,” said Susan V. Berresford, president of the Ford Foundation. “The LCW program not only recognizes their accomplishments but also seeks to explore what constitutes effective leadership today and to share those insights more broadly.”

Each awardee will receive $100,000 to advance their work and an additional $15,000 for supporting activities over the next two years. The winners will also participate in a multi-year collaborative research initiative exploring how leadership is created and sustained.

The Award and Research Program

Launched in September 2000, Leadership for a Changing World is a program of the Ford Foundation in partnership with the Advocacy Institute in Washington, D.C. and the Robert F. Wagner Graduate School of Public Service at New York University. By 2005 the LCW will have recognized nearly 100 outstanding leaders and leadership teams not broadly known beyond their immediate community or field. LCW provides financial and other support for their programs and leadership, and engages them as partners in ongoing research about leadership.

“In a time when the public is taking a keen interest in the quality of all leaders, we believe the winners of the Leadership for a Changing World award epitomize the best kinds of leadership,” said Kathleen D. Sheekey, President and CEO of the Advocacy Institute. “These individuals and groups serve as examples of the richness and diversity of American leadership. From them, we can learn about the complexity of successful community leadership, and take hope.”

The 2004 Leadership for a Changing World Awardees

  • Malika Saada Saar and Imani Walker, The Rebecca Project for Human Rights, Washington, D.C.

  • Mily Treviño-Sauceda, Organización en California de Líderes Campesinas, Inc.—Pomona, CA

  • Ron Chew, Wing Luke Asian Museum, Seattle, WA

  • Carolyn Dowse, Sapelo Island Cultural and Revitalization Society — Sapelo Island, GA

  • Pablo Alvarado, National Day Laborer Organizing Network — Los Angeles, CA

  • Sandra K. Barnhill, Aid to Children of Imprisoned Mothers, Inc. —Atlanta, GA

  • Hugh Espey, Iowa Citizens for Community Improvement —Des Moines, IA

  • Vic Rosenthal, Jewish Community Action, St. Paul, MN

  • Robert Dostis and Joanne Heidkamp, Vermont Campaign to End Childhood Hunger — Burlington, VT

  • Anthony Flaccavento, Appalachian Sustainable Development — Abingdon, VA

  • Jill Morrison, Powder River Basin Resource Council, Sheridan, WY

  • Diana Bustamante, Rubén Núñez, and Mary Ann Benavidez, Colonias Development Council — Las Cruces, NM

  • David Kakishiba, Isabel Toscano, Dung Thi Tran, Rosa Vicente, Lew Chien Saelee, Evangelina Lara, East Bay Asian Youth Center, Oakland, CA

  • Greta Holmes, Alice Kim, Noreen McNulty, and Joan Parkin, Campaign to End the Death Penalty — Chicago, IL

  • Juan E. Rosario, Misión Industrial de Puerto Rico, Inc. — San Juan, Puerto Rico

  • Dázon Dixon Diallo, SisterLove, Inc.—Atlanta, GA

  • Monifa Akinwole-Bandele, Pamela Sah and Sarah Ludwig, Neighborhood Economic Development Advocacy Project — New York, NY

  • Beatrice Clark Shelby, Boys, Girls, Adults Community Development Center, Marvell, AR

Related Topics

What to Read Next

Scroll to Top